Rep. Tlaib Calls on Sen. McConnell to Bring For the People Act Up for a Debate and Vote

Jun 05, 2019


Washington, DC –– Today, Congresswoman Rashida Tlaib (MI-13) sent a letter to Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell urging him to allow a debate and an up or down vote on the For the People Act (H.R. 1/S. 949). The letter was also signed by almost every Democratic member of the U.S. House’s freshman class. The For the People Act passed the House in March and is a once-in-a-generation anti-corruption, voting rights, and money in politics reform bill.

The letter reads: “Across the country, the American people have made clear that they want Congress to enact meaningful anti-corruption reform. That’s why we pledged action on comprehensive campaign finance, ethics, and voting reforms as the first priority for the 116th Congress. As newly sworn-in Members, we got right to work on the For the People Act (H.R. 1), the most comprehensive set of pro-democracy reforms in a generation, passing it out of the House in March. Following a campaign season in which corruption and the power of special interests was a central theme, H.R. 1 delivered on our promise to clean up Washington and create a democracy that works for all of us.”

You can read the full text of the letter here.

“The American people have waited long enough to have the stranglehold that special interests have on our democracy broken—and the For the People Act does just that,” Congresswoman Tlaib said. “Corporate greed and money in our political system has eroded the voices of everyday Americans and it’s time for us to take our democracy back. Leader McConnell should live up to the title he holds, bring this historic piece of legislation to the Senate floor, and bring us one step closer toward being a government that at long last is truly by and for the people.”

“In the 2018 midterms, the American people demanded reform and elected leaders who would fight against the special interests controlling Washington,” said End Citizens United President Tiffany Muller. “By passing the For the People Act so swiftly, the new Democratic majority proved they are accountable to voters, not special interests. The House has done its job, but because of Senator Mitch McConnell, the Senate hasn’t even held a hearing on the bill. Mitch McConnell is acting like a puppet in the hands of the Big Money corporate special interests that keep him in power. McConnell should listen to the people and allow the Senate to vote on the For the People Act.”

Below is the list of Democratic Freshman members of the U.S. House who have signed the letter:

Rep. Rashida Tlaib (MI-13)
Rep. Max Rose (NY-11)*
Rep. Katie Porter (CA-45)*
Rep. Jason Crow (CO-06)*
Rep. Sharice Davids (KS-03)*
Rep. Elissa Slotkin (MI-08)*
Rep. Dean Phillips (MN-03)*
Rep. Chris Pappas (NH-01)*
Rep. Andy Kim (NJ-03)*
Rep. Tom Malinowski (NJ-07)*
Rep. Antonio Delgado (NY-19)*
Rep. Colin Allred (TX-32)*
Rep. Abigail Spanberger (VA-07)*
Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ-02)
Rep. Greg Stanton (AZ-09)
Rep. Josh Harder (CA-10)
Rep. TJ Cox (CA-21)
Rep. Jimmy Gomez (CA-34)
Rep. Katie Hill (CA-25)
Rep. Gil Cisneros (CA-39)
Rep. Harley Rouda (CA-48)
Rep. Mike Levin (CA-49)
Rep. Joe Neguse (CO-02)
Rep. Jahana Hayes (CT-05)
Rep. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (FL-26)
Rep. Donna Shalala (FL-27)
Rep. Lucy McBath (GA-06)
Rep. Ed Case (HI-01)
Rep. Abby Finkenauer (IA-01)
Rep. Cindy Axne (IA-03)
Rep. Jesus Chuy García (IL-04)
Rep. Sean Casten (IL-06)
Rep. Lauren Underwood (IL-14)
Rep. Lori Trahan (MA-03)
Rep. Ayanna Pressley (MA-07)
Rep. David Trone (MD-06)
Rep. Andy Levin (MI-09)
Rep. Haley M. Stevens (MI-11)
Rep. Angie Craig (MN-02)
Rep. Ilhan Omar (MN-05)
Rep. Jeff Van Drew (NJ-02)
Rep. Mikie Sherrill (NJ-11)
Rep. Deb Haaland (NM-01)
Rep. Xochitl Torres Small (NM-02)
Rep. Susie Lee (NV-03)
Rep. Steven Horsford (NV-04)
Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY-14)
Rep. Anthony Brindisi (NY-22)
Rep. Joseph Morelle (NY-25)
Rep. Kendra Horn (OK-05)
Rep. Madeleine Dean (PA-04)
Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon (PA-05)
Rep. Chrissy Houlahan (PA-06)
Rep. Susan Wild (PA-07)
Rep. Conor Lamb (PA-17)
Rep. Joe Cunningham (SC-01)
Rep. Lizzie Pannill Fletcher (TX-07)
Rep. Veronica Escobar (TX-16)
Rep. Sylvia Garcia (TX-29)
Rep. Ben McAdams (UT-04)
Rep. Jennifer Wexton (VA-10)
Rep. Kim Schrier (WA-08)

* Denotes the 12 Freshmen members who helped organize the letter.


Recent Posts

Apr 17, 2024

Tlaib, Dingell Introduce Resolution Recognizing Arab American Heritage Month

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, Congresswoman Rashida Tlaib (MI-12) and Congresswoman Debbie Dingell (MI-06) re-introduced a resolution recognizing April as Arab American Heritage Month to honor the incredible contributions Arab Americans have made in the United States. “It is always an honor to introduce this resolution recognizing Arab American Heritage Month,” said Congresswoman Tlaib. “As a […]

Apr 12, 2024

Tlaib Opposes Reauthorizing Unchecked Government Surveillance

WASHINGTON D.C. — Today, Congresswoman Rashida Tlaib (MI-12) released the following statement after voting against H.R. 7888: “It’s extremely disturbing that our government under both parties continues to abuse the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act to surveil and spy on Americans in violation of our civil liberties, disproportionately targeting Black and brown communities. I voted to […]

Apr 4, 2024
In the News

Detroit Metro Times: Palestinian journalist Motaz Azaiza visits Michigan to speak at U-M and meet with Rashida Tlaib

Throughout the last six months, Palestinian citizens have taken on the vital role of journalism, capturing horrors in Gaza through videos and photographs shared across social media platforms. Among many, some of the most prominent faces have been Bisan Owda, Plestia Alaqad, and Motaz Azaiza, gaining millions of followers worldwide who not only seek updates on the conflict […]