Congressional Mamas' Caucus

I am incredibly grateful for the partnership of Congresswomen Bush, Jayapal, Meng, and Nikema Williams for co-founding the Congressional Mamas’ Caucus in July 2022 and advocating for mothers across our country.

As members of the Mamas’ Caucus, we are committed to advocating for mothers of color and their families. We must center our mamas in the policies we develop and champion in Congress. We know that the costs of raising a child in our country are among the highest in the world, and that our policies too often leave behind working families. We must build childcare policies that support every family, and ones that ensure providers are paid a living wage.

We know that we are one of the only industrialized nations in the world that does not offer a single day of paid family and medical leave. In the richest nation in the history of the world, more than 30 million workers do not have access to a single day of paid leave. This is unacceptable.

In Michigan, we are in the midst of a Black infant and maternal health crisis. Our state has one of the highest death rates among Black pregnant people in the country because our systems and institutions have failed to provide our neighbors with the comprehensive, high-quality health care they deserve. We are also on the front lines of the fight for reproductive justice because we know that abortion care is health care.

When our government does not invest in our mamas and neglects their needs, we cannot be surprised when we experience a maternal health crisis, a childcare affordability crisis, and a reproductive justice crisis. As a mama and the Co-Chair of the Mamas’ Caucus, I refuse to accept this status quo—for my neighbors, for my residents, and for mamas across the country.

You can read more about our work in the Mamas’ Caucus here and key legislation here.

Mamas’ Caucus members include:

Congresswoman Rashida Tlaib, Chair

Congresswoman Cori Bush, Co-Chair

Congresswoman Pramila Jayapal, Co-Chair

Congresswoman Grace Meng, Co-Chair

Congresswoman Nikema Williams, Co-Chair

Congresswoman Melanie Stansbury

Congressman Lloyd Doggett

Congresswoman Judy Chu

Congresswoman Linda Sanchez

Congressman Jimmy Gomez

Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee

Congresswoman Sara Jacobs

Congresswoman Jennifer McClellan

Congresswoman Ilhan Omar

Congresswoman Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick

Congressman Maxwell Frost

Congresswoman Jill Tokuda

Congresswoman Yvette Clarke

Congresswoman Andrea Salinas

Congresswoman Jasmine Crockett

Congresswoman Summer Lee

Congresswoman Sylvia Garcia